Bloomsburg Area School District
Board of School Directors
Special Meeting
Monday, 7 October 2013
7:00 p.m.
W.W. Evans Elementary School

MINUTES

Attendance

A special meeting of the Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors was called to order at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, 7 October 2013, at W.W. Evans Elementary School, followed by the pledge to the flag. Directors in attendance were: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Brent Hock, Mr. Justin Hummel, Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mr. Norman Mael, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, Mr. William Snavely, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Bloomsburg Area School District administrators in attendance were: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Michael Upton, and Mr. Nick Wozniak.

Others present were: Mr. Chris Long.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & PERSONS WISHING TO SPEAK

At this point in the meeting, there were no members of the audience who wished to address the board.

NEW BUSINESS

Approval of Homebound Instruction Request

Mr. Mael made the motion, which Mrs. Fiedler seconded, to approve a homebound instruction request for a Bloomsburg High School student, retroactive to 21 August 2013 and lasting for at least 20 school days. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Approval of Change Orders for Pool and Generator

Mrs. Fiedler made the motion, which Mrs. Rupp seconded, to approve as presented the change orders for the pool and generator projects. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Approval of Field Hockey Booster Club

Mrs. Rupp made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Crawford, to approve the Field Hockey Booster Club. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Acceptance of Donations

Ms. Kreisher moved to accept the following donations to the Bloomsburg Area School District:

- ➤ A monetary donation of \$500 from Merck to be used for prize money for the Bloomsburg Middle School Science Fair;
- > A 1963 Bloomsburg High School dedication program by Representative David Millard;

- Coach Frank Golder's 1953 playbook by Jack Foust;
- A monetary donation of \$175 by the American Legion to the Bloomsburg Junior High Football Team to help with transportation costs to and from scrimmages; and
- ➤ The donation of a 1950s diner bar set piece and rod iron chairs, tables and platforms by the Line Mountain Arts Council to the Bloomsburg High School Drama Club.

The motion was seconded by Mrs. Fiedler and was then approved by a unanimous voice vote.

Approval of Out-of-State/Overnight Field Trip Request

Mrs. Rupp made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Crawford, to approve the following out-of-state/overnight field trip request: Bloomsburg High School Student Council members to Boyertown, Pennsylvania from 14 November 2013 – 16 November 2013 for the purpose of attending the state conference, at a cost to the district of \$1,120.00.

Mr. Tobin then made the motion, which was seconded by Ms. Kreisher, to amend the motion to read: Approve the following out-of-state/overnight field trip request: Bloomsburg High School Student Council members to Boyertown, Pennsylvania from 14 November 2013 – 16 November 2013 for the purpose of attending the state conference, at a cost to the district of \$188.25. The motion to amend the original motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

The amended motion then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

PERSONNEL

Approval/Acceptance of Personnel Items

Ms. Kreisher made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Rupp, to approve/accept the following personnel items:

- Accept the resignation of Junior High Wrestling Coach Troy Charles, effective 8 October 2013;
- Approve extending the leave of absence of Beaver-Main Elementary School Personal Care Aide Lisa Roberts through at least 15 October 2013;
- Approve a leave of absence for W.W. Evans Elementary School Teacher Robert Cromley, retroactive to 30 August 2013 and lasting through 5 November 2013;
- Approve the following classified staff transfers:
 - O Isaac Chen from the position of classified substitute to the position of Bloomsburg Middle School Full-Time Custodian, at a rate of \$8.50 per hour and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective 8 October 2013; and
 - O Jean Zellner from the position of classified substitute to the position of Bloomsburg Middle School Four-Hour-Per-Day Food Service Aide, at a rate of \$8.25 per hour and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective 8 October 2013;
- Approve the following individuals as classified staff:
 - O Shawna Malencore as a W.W. Evans Elementary School Paraprofessional, at \$8.50 per hour and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective upon receipt of her Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances and her tuberculosis test results; and
 - Morgan Kaiser as a classified substitute, effective 8 October 2013;
- Approve the following individuals as professional day-to-day substitutes:
 - o Rebecca Williams (Special Education), effective 8 October 2013; and
 - o Alyssa Wawroski (Early Childhood Education PreK-4), effective 8 October 2013; and
- Approve Levonia Pollard as the Bloomsburg High School Musical Business Manager for the 2013-2014 school year, at 8 units and a stipend of \$600.00.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

ADJOURNMENT

At 7:05 p.m., Ms. Kreisher made the motion to adjourn the special meeting and move into the work session. Mr. Hock seconded the motion, which then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Kessler Recording Secretary

(compiled by notes from Dr. Curry and Mr. Upton)

Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors Work Session Monday, 7 October 2013 - 7:00 p.m. W.W. Evans Elementary School

MINUTES

- I. Buildings, Grounds, & Maintenance Report
- II. Administrative Reports
- III. Secondary Grading
- IV. Budget
- V. STEM Update
- VI. CMAVTS Report
- VII. CSIU Report
- VIII. Executive Session An executive session was held from 9:06 9:21 p.m. for the purpose of discussing legal matters.

Board members present: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Brent Hock, Mr. Justin Hummel, Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mr. Norman Mael, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, Mr. William Snavely, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Board members absent: None.

Staff members present: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Michael Upton, and Mr. Nick Wozniak.

Others present: Mr. Chris Long.

Speakers: None.

Adjournment Time: 9:21 p.m.