Bloomsburg Area School District
Board of School Directors
Special Meeting
Monday, 4 March 2013
7:00 p.m.
District Office Board Room

MINUTES

Attendance

A special meeting of the Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors was called to order at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, 4 March 2013, in the district office board room, followed by the pledge to the flag. Directors in attendance were: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Justin Hummel, Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mr. Norman Mael, Ms. Cristina Mathews, and Mrs. Sandra Rupp. Mr. Brent Hock and Mr. Thomas Tobin were both absent and excused from the meeting.

Bloomsburg Area School District administrators in attendance were: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Nick Wozniak, and Mr. Michael Upton.

Others present were: Ms. Mary Beth Broadt, Ms. Stephanie Kessler, and Mrs. Denise Stone.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & PERSONS WISHING TO SPEAK

Mrs. Denise Stone addressed the school board regarding football and a marketing plan for the school district. She said the football boosters would be willing to donate up to \$2,500 toward the football scoreboard if it was completed this school year.

NEW BUSINESS

Approval of Out-of-State/Overnight Field Trip Requests

Ms. Kreisher made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Fiedler, to approve the following out-of-state/overnight field trip requests:

- Forensics students to Susquehanna University for PHSSL State Championships from 22 March 2013 23 March 2013, at a cost to the district of \$342.80 \$514.80; and
- ➤ Bloomsburg High School Chorus students to Midd-West High School from 21 March 2013 23 March 2013, at a cost to the district of \$282.00.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

PERSONNEL

Approval/Acceptance of Personnel Items

Ms. Kreisher made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Fiedler, to approve/accept the following personnel items:

- Approve the transfer of Wallace Jamison from Part-Time Custodian at Memorial Elementary School to Full-Time Custodian at Bloomsburg Middle School at an hourly rate of \$8.25 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, retroactive to 25 February 2013;
- Approve the transfer of Amy Weaver from Full-Time Health Aide at Bloomsburg High School to Full-Time Health Aide at W.W. Evans Elementary School, effective 25 March 2013;

- Accept the retirement of Memorial Elementary School Paraprofessional Beverly Smith, effective at the end of the 2012-2013 school year;
- Approve the following individuals as athletic coaches for the 2012-2013 season:
 - o Chad Hoffman Assistant Baseball Coach Step 1 \$634.00 (split salary) pending receipt of his Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances;
 - o Brady Knorr Assistant Baseball Coach Step 1 \$634.00 (split salary) pending receipt of his Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances;
 - o Karl Luxardo Volunteer Softball Coach pending receipt of his Act 34 Clearance; and
 - o Betsy Renn Assistant Junior High Field Hockey Coach Step 1 \$1,529.00;
 - o Mary Sciacchetano Assistant Track & Field Coach Step 1 \$1,268.00;
- Approve the following individuals as professional day-to-day substitutes:
 - o Christine DeLong, effective 5 March 2013;
 - o Cara Fredericks, effective upon receipt of her PA teaching certificate;
 - o Rebecca Schaller, effective 5 March 2013;
 - o Mandi Siegfried, effective 5 March 2013; and
 - o Jennifer Welliver, effective 5 March 2013;
- Approve the transfer of Professional Substitute Jennifer Coombe to the position of Full-Time Elementary Teacher at W.W. Evans Elementary School, at Step 1 Masters and an annual salary of \$37,853.00 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective for the start of the 2013-2014 school year; and
- Approve the transfer of Half-Time Long-Term Substitute Secondary School Nurse Leanne Ryan to the position of Full-Time Long-Term Substitute Secondary School Nurse, effective 5 March 2013, and to approve transferring her to the position of Full-Time Secondary School Nurse, at Step 2 Bachelors +24 and an annual salary of \$38,024.00 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract for the start of the 2013-2014 school year, pending receipt of her PA teaching certificate; and
- Accept the retirement of Memorial Elementary School Teacher Wendy Stevens, effective at the end of the 2012-2013 school year.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Acceptance of Classified Staff Resignation

At this point in the meeting, Ms. Kreisher made the motion to amend the original agenda to include this motion, for the acceptance of a classified staff resignation, to the agenda. Mrs. Rupp seconded this motion, which then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Ms. Kreisher then made the motion to accept the resignation of Second-Shift Beaver-Main Elementary School Custodian Greg Landis, with his last day of work being 15 March 2013. Mrs. Crawford seconded this motion and it then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 7:13 p.m., Ms. Mathews made the motion to adjourn the special meeting and move into the work session. Ms. Kreisher seconded this motion, which then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Kessler Recording Secretary

Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors Work Session Monday, 4 March 2013 - 7:00 p.m. District Office Board Room

MINUTES

- I. Buildings, Grounds, & Maintenance Report
- II. Administrative Reports
- III. Special Education Plan
- IV. BASD Budget
- V. CSIU Budget
- VI. Comprehensive Plan Overall Plan
- VII. Long-Term Substitute Pay Rates
- VIII. Tenure Update Dr. Curry reported that Bloomsburg Middle School Aquatics/Physical Education Teacher Joseph Tommasini had obtained tenure status, after having met all the requirements of Section 1108 of the Pennsylvania School Code.
- IX. Scoreboards
- X. Policy 800: Records Management
- XI. Bond Refinancing
- XII. CMAVTS Report
- XIII. CSIU Report

Board members present: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Justin Hummel, Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mr. Norman Mael, Ms. Cristina Mathews, and Mrs. Sandra Rupp.

Board members absent: Mr. Brent Hock and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Staff members present: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Nick Wozniak, and Mr. Michael Upton.

Others present: Ms. Mary Beth Broadt and Mrs. Denise Stone.

Speakers: None.

Adjournment Time: 8:44 p.m.