Bloomsburg Area School District
Board of School Directors
Special Meeting
Monday, 5 November 2012
7:00 p.m.
Memorial Elementary School

MINUTES

Attendance

A special meeting of the Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors was called to order at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, 5 November 2012, at Memorial Elementary School, followed by the pledge to the flag. Directors in attendance were: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Brent Hock, Mr. Justin Hummel, Mr. David Klingerman Jr., Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Ms. Cristina Mathews, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Bloomsburg Area School District administrators in attendance were: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Michael Upton, and Mr. Nick Wozniak.

Others present included: Mr. Zach Bennett, Ms. Kyla Burns, Ms. Jessica Eaton, Mr. Josh Klingerman, Mrs. Deb Krupp, Mr. Jon Littlewood, Mr. Bill Perkins, Mr. Bing Pursel, Mr. Bruce Rankin, Ms. Steph Rankin, Mrs. Barbara Sorg, Mrs. Denise Stone, Mr. Tyler Weller, and Mr. Brian Wawroski.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & PERSONS WISHING TO SPEAK

At this time, FBLA Advisor Kyla Burns and FBLA members Zach Bennett and Tyler Weller thanked the board for giving them the opportunity to attend the state convention.

Mrs. Deb Krupp addressed the board regarding class sizes at Memorial Elementary School.

Mr. Josh Klingerman, Mr. Bing Pursel, and Mrs. Barbara Sorg addressed the board to show their support for Athletic Director Bill Perkins.

NEW BUSINESS

Approval of Arch Central Contract for Natatorium Upgrades

Ms. Kreisher made the motion, which Mr. Tobin seconded, to approve the contract through Arch Central for Bloomsburg Middle School natatorium upgrades. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Acceptance of Donation

Mr. Tobin made the motion, which was seconded by Ms. Kreisher, to accept the donation of autographed editions of the books "The Pout-Pout Fish" and "The Pout-Pout Fish in the Big-Big Dark" by Deborah Diesen and illustrated by Dan Hanna, made by Deborah Diesen, to the Beaver-Main Elementary School library. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

PERSONNEL

Approval/Acceptance of Personnel Items

Mr. Hock made the motion, which was seconded by Ms. Kreisher, to approve/accept the following personnel items:

- o Accept of the resignation of School Director David Klingerman Jr., effective 1 December 2012;
- o Approve the 2012-2013 athletic coaches as presented;
- O Approve the following individuals as Odyssey of the Mind coaches for the 2012-2013 school year, at a stipend of \$100 each:
 - Gayle Decker, Memorial Elementary School
 - Michelle Hintz, Bloomsburg Middle School
 - Nicole Hixson, Bloomsburg Middle School
 - Brad Smith, Bloomsburg Middle School
- Accept the resignation of Memorial Elementary School Personal Care Aide Nadine Edwards, retroactive to 26 October 2012, and to keep her on the classified and professional substitute lists;
- O Approve the transfer of Bloomsburg Middle School Personal Care Aide Megan Hummel to the position of Bloomsburg Middle School Life Skills Paraprofessional, effective 6 November 2012;
- o Approve Shirley Ackley as a Bloomsburg Area School District van driver through contractor Lone Derr for the remainder of the 2012-2013 school year;
- o Approve Lindsay Hollan and Brittany Reibsome as professional day-to-day substitutes, effective 6 November 2012; and
- o Approve Mary Jo Yocum as a classified staff substitute, effective 6 November 2012.

The motion passed by a voice vote of eight yes votes and one abstention (being Mr. Klingerman, who abstained because he did not wish to vote on his resignation as a school director).

ADJOURNMENT

At 7:21 p.m., Mr. Tobin made the motion to adjourn the special meeting and move into the work session. Mr. Hock seconded this motion, which then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Kessler Recording Secretary

(from notes taken by Dr. Cosmas Curry & Mr. Michael Upton)

Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors Work Session Monday, 5 November 2012 - 7:00 p.m. Memorial Elementary School Library

MINUTES

- I. Buildings, Grounds, & Maintenance Report
- II. Administrative Reports
- III. Reorganization Meeting/CMAVTS Dinner
- IV. Budget
- V. Bloomsburg University Spring Sports Contract
- VI. Elementary Class Sizes
- VII. EverFi Financial Literacy Program
- VIII. Side Effects Contract
- IX. New School Director Timeline and Questions
- X. Gerri Newhart's Job Description
- XI. CMAVTS Report
- XII. CSIU Report
- XIII. Executive Session to Discuss Personnel Matters An executive session was held from 9:00 10:08 p.m. for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

Board members present: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Brent Hock, Mr. Justin Hummel, Mr. David Klingerman Jr., Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Ms. Cristina Mathews, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Board members absent: None.

Staff members present: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Michael Upton, and Mr. Nick Wozniak.

Others present: Mr. Zach Bennett, Ms. Kyla Burns, Ms. Jessica Eaton, Mr. Josh Klingerman, Mrs. Deb Krupp, Mr. Jon Littlewood, Mr. Bill Perkins, Mr. Bing Pursel, Mr. Bruce Rankin, Ms. Steph Rankin, Mrs. Barbara Sorg, Mrs. Denise

Stone, Mr. Tyler Weller, and Mr. Brian Wawroski.

Speakers: None.

Adjournment Time: 10:08 p.m.