Bloomsburg Area School District
Board of School Directors
Special Meeting
Monday, 6 August 2012
7:00 p.m.
District Office Board Room

#### **MINUTES**

#### Attendance

A special meeting of the Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors was called to order at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, 6 August 2012, in the district office board room, followed by the pledge to the flag. Directors in attendance were: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Justin Hummel, Mr. David Klingerman Jr., Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, and Mr. Thomas Tobin. Mr. Brent Hock and Ms. Cristina Mathews were absent and excused from the meeting.

Bloomsburg Area School District administrators in attendance were: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Michael Upton, and Mr. Nick Wozniak.

Others present included: Mr. Charley Chyko, Ms. Melanie Hons, Mr. Michael Lester, Ms. Gina Radosta, and Ms. Kristen Waters.

### **RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & PERSONS WISHING TO SPEAK**

No one wished to address the board at this time.

At this point in the meeting, Mr. Klingerman moved to remove from the agenda the following motion: approve as presented the Agreement between the Bloomsburg Area School District and the Bloomsburg Area Education Association from 1 July 2011 – 30 June 2014. Mr. Tobin seconded this motion and the motion then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

# Approval of Bus Mileage Rate

Mr. Tobin made the motion, which Mrs. Rupp seconded, to approve increasing the bus activity/athletic trip mileage rate from \$2.13 in 2011-2012 to \$2.19 in 2012-2013. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

# Acceptance of Baseball Field Repair Bid

Mrs. Crawford made the motion, which was seconded by Mrs. Rupp, to accept the bid of Green Mountain Excavating & Hauling of Drums, Pennsylvania as outlined:

- Base Bid = \$43,850.00
- Alternate 1 (Infield Drainage) = \$7,080.00
- Alternate 2 (Re-grade & Re-seed Outfield) = \$3,430.00
- Alternate 3 (Re-grade & Re-seed Infield) = \$2,750.00
- Total = \$57,110.00

The motion passed by a voice vote of five yes votes to two no votes (being Mr. Hummel and Ms. Kreisher).

#### **PERSONNEL**

## Approval of Personnel Items

Mrs. Fiedler made the motion, which Mrs. Rupp seconded, to approve/accept the following personnel items:

- The bus/van drivers for 2012-2013 as presented in the attached document;
- Approve the following classified staff:
  - O The transfer of Edith Pagan from Two-Hour-Per-Day Cafeteria Worker at Memorial Elementary School to Three-Hour-Per-Day Cafeteria Worker at Memorial Elementary School, effective for the start of the 2012-2013 school year;
  - o Carolyn Blyler as a Two-Hour-Per-Day Cafeteria Worker at Memorial Elementary School, effective upon receipt of her Act 114 Clearance and her tuberculosis test results;
  - O Barbara Pfaff as a classified substitute, effective upon receipt of her Act 114 and Act 151 clearances and her tuberculosis test results;
  - O Paula Swiderski as a classified substitute, effective upon receipt of her Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances and her tuberculosis test results;
  - o Lori Neff as a classified substitute, effective 7 August 2012;
  - Melanie Hons as a Health Aide at W.W. Evans Elementary School, at an hourly rate of \$10.25 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective for the start of the 2012-2013 school year; and
  - O Wallace Jamison as a Part-Time Custodian at Memorial Elementary School, at an hourly rate of \$8.25, effective upon receipt of his Act 34, 114, and 151 clearances and his tuberculosis test results.
- Accept the following classified staff resignations:
  - O Bloomsburg High School Food Service Aide Martin Longenberger, retroactive to 20 July 2012;
  - o Special Education Secretary Stacey Potora, effective 10 August 2012, and to add her to the classified substitute list, effective 11 August 2012;
- Accept the following professional staff resignations:
  - o Half-Time Bloomsburg High School Spanish Teacher Kathleen Haubert, effective 7 August 2012;
  - o Half-Time Beaver-Main Elementary School Reading Specialist Patricia Suchocki, retroactive to 1 August 2012;
- Accept the resignation of Assistant Varsity Softball Coach Pete Ziller, retroactive to 27 July 2012;
- Approve the following professional staff:
  - O Gina Radosta as a Bloomsburg High School Half-Time Spanish Teacher, at ½ Step 1 Bachelors and a salary of \$17,763.00 and with benefits as per the negotiated contract, effective for the start of the 2012-2013 school year, pending receipt of her teaching certificate; and
  - o Kristen Waters as a Long-Term Kindergarten Substitute Teacher for the 2012-2013 school year, at Step 1 Bachelors and a salary of \$35,526.00 with no benefits.

The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

## Approval of Professional Day-to-Day Substitutes

Mrs. Fiedler made the motion, which Mrs. Rupp seconded, to approve the following professional day-to-day substitutes, effective for the start of the 2012-2013 school year: Alexandra Creasy, Michelle Fanslau, Brittany Fisher, Mellissa Fought, and Amanda Yaple. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

# ADJOURNMENT TO WORK SESSION

At 7:28 p.m., Ms. Kreisher made the motion to adjourn the special meeting and move into the work session. Mrs. Fiedler seconded this motion, and it then passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephanie Kessler Recording Secretary

# Bloomsburg Area School District Board of Directors Work Session Monday, 6 August 2012 - 7:00 p.m. District Office Board Room

## **MINUTES**

- I. Buildings, Grounds, & Maintenance Report
- II. Administrative Reports
- III. Drop-Out Report
- IV. Job Descriptions
- V. Football at Bloomsburg University
- VI. K & W Engineering
- VII. Consolidation
- VIII. CMAVTS Report
- IX. CSIU Report

Board members present: Mrs. Bonnie Crawford, Mrs. Bonnie Fiedler, Mr. Justin Hummel, Mr. David Klingerman Jr., Ms. Marianne Kreisher, Mrs. Sandra Rupp, and Mr. Thomas Tobin.

Board members absent: Mr. Brent Hock and Ms. Cristina Mathews.

Staff members present: Mr. Dan Bonomo, Mr. Steve Bressi, Ms. Donna Christensen, Dr. Cosmas Curry, Mr. Marc Freeman, Mr. Chris Groody, Mr. Ryan Moran, Mr. Trevor Palmatier, Mr. Michael Upton, and Mr. Nick Wozniak.

Others present: Mr. Michael Lester.

Speakers: None.

Adjournment Time: 8:52 p.m.