Bloomsburg Area School District School Board Work Session Summary 13 January 2025 7:00 p.m.

Bloomsburg Area Secondary Complex Enhanced Learning Center & Zoom

The following is a summary of the 13 January 2025 school board work session, which began at 7:08 p.m.

- School board members present were: Stephanie Andreacci, Sam Bidleman, Jonathan Jones, John Khan, Eric Miller, Amanda Orzolek, Eve Ralston, and Mark Reisinger.
- School board members absent were: Joshua Klingerman Sr.
- School administrators present were: Jonathan Cleaver, Cara Dunn, Gary Honabach, Stephanie Kessler, Andrea Landis, David Marsiglio, Amy Melchiorre, Guy Moses, Michelle Prybyla, and Dan Yarnell.
- Others present were: Phil Burrell, Lisa Herrald-Doerschler, Lindsey Lipsky, MJ Mahon, Bryn Moore, Garrett Forrester Petters, Will Ralston, Charilis Simpson, Camden Wasielewski, and Kylee Ellia Spring Younger.
- Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Advisor Kylee Younger and Bloomsburg High School Student Garrett Petters presented information to the board regarding the upcoming FBLA State Conference and asked the board to consider paying \$4,000 toward the trip, per Policy 240.1: Contests/Academic/Performance Competitions.
- There was no public comment at this point in the meeting.
- The board reviewed the following New Business items, to be voted on at the next meeting:
 - Approval of the minutes from the previous school board meetings
 - o Approval of the Act 1 Resolution for the 2025-2026 fiscal year, as presented
 - Approval of the revised Radiological Emergency Response Plan for the Bloomsburg Area School District for Incidents at the Susquehanna Steam Electric Station
 - o Approval of the Solar for Schools Grant Program Resolution, as presented
 - Acceptance of the monetary donation of \$20 to be used toward the mailing of letters to military personnel, made by the Nenstiel family

- Approval of the Gold Service Agreements with TKE Elevator Corporation for elevator maintenance at Memorial Elementary School, Bloomsburg Middle School, and Bloomsburg High School
- 0 Acknowledgment of the following individuals as Spring 2025 student teachers:
 - McKennah Proudfit with Alyssa McNamara, Memorial Elementary School
 - Chloe Fleurie with Jennifer Flook, Bloomsburg Middle School
 - Shea Hossler with Renee Beck, W.W. Evans Elementary School
 - Michelle LeStourgeon with Dana Lylo, Memorial Elementary School
 - Madison Myers with Christine Ulrich, W.W. Evans Elementary School
 - Khristian Onuschak with Jennee Coombe, Memorial Elementary School
 - Jacob Schenck with Tara Mentzer, Bloomsburg Middle School
 - Mia Velez with Sara Broadt, Memorial Elementary School
 - Jace Eisler with Andrea Welch, Memorial Elementary School
 - Ryan Lannuzzi with Holly Lapinski, Bloomsburg Middle School
 - Aaron Zettlemoyer with Amanda Zwalkuski, Bloomsburg High School
 - Ella Kale with Laura Cooper, Memorial Elementary School
 - Cameron Trapani with Jennifer Yeager, W.W. Evans Elementary School
- Approval of the out-of-state/overnight field trip request of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) to attend the Pennsylvania FBLA State Leadership Conference from 7 April 2025 - 9 April 2025 in Hershey, Pennsylvania, at a cost to the district of \$4,000
- The board reviewed the following Personnel items, to be voted on at the next meeting:
 - Approval of the minutes from the previous school board meetings
 - Approval of the Act 1 Resolution for the 2025-2026 fiscal year, as presented
 - Approval of the revised Radiological Emergency Response Plan for the Bloomsburg Area School District for Incidents at the Susquehanna Steam Electric Station
 - Approval of the Solar for Schools Grant Program Resolution, as presented
 - Acceptance of the monetary donation of \$20 to be used toward the mailing of letters to military personnel, made by the Nenstiel family
 - Approval of the Gold Service Agreements with TKE Elevator Corporation for elevator maintenance at Memorial Elementary School, Bloomsburg Middle School, and Bloomsburg High School
 - Acknowledgment of the following individuals as Spring 2025 student teachers:

- McKennah Proudfit with Alyssa McNamara, Memorial Elementary School
- Chloe Fleurie with Jennifer Flook, Bloomsburg Middle School
- Shea Hossler with Renee Beck, W.W. Evans Elementary School
- Michelle LeStourgeon with Dana Lylo, Memorial Elementary School
- Madison Myers with Christine Ulrich, W.W. Evans Elementary School
- Khristian Onuschak with Jennee Coombe, Memorial Elementary School
- Jacob Schenck with Tara Mentzer, Bloomsburg Middle School
- Mia Velez with Sara Broadt, Memorial Elementary School
- Jace Eisler with Andrea Welch, Memorial Elementary School
- Ryan Lannuzzi with Holly Lapinski, Bloomsburg Middle School
- Aaron Zettlemoyer with Amanda Zwalkuski, Bloomsburg High School
- Ella Kale with Laura Cooper, Memorial Elementary School
- Cameron Trapani with Jennifer Yeager, W.W. Evans Elementary School
- Approval of the out-of-state/overnight field trip request of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) to attend the Pennsylvania FBLA State Leadership Conference from 7 April 2025 - 9 April 2025 in Hershey, Pennsylvania, at a cost to the district of \$4,000
- During the public comment period for non-agenda items, Will Ralston addressed the board regarding Policy 103: Discrimination/Harassment Affecting Students and requested that, in light of changes to Title IX at the federal level, they consider keeping "gender identity" as a protected class in this policy. Mr. Ralston also requested the board keep in mind the location of single-user restrooms in their buildings, ensuring students do not feel singled out if they wish to use such a facility.
- At 8:24 p.m., the work session adjourned.